Wrist watches (Letting You Go)

ww

 

I hadn’t tasted safety
Warmer than your grip before
But the minute your mouth
Stopped moving against mine
I knew power over time
Cannot be established;
Only manipulated, for a while
.
I made sure
We wore the same wristwatches
Everyday
Hoping it wouldn’t take
More than the needles
Hitting the numbers together
For us
To stick to the same page
.
I did not realize
Time can’t align
Two different worlds
Together
.
So when your sky had
More sun than there was
In my eyes
You forgot my feet
Were still starving in
Winter
.
We still had the same watches
But, I looked at mine more often
Than you did
Trying sometimes
To place the needles
In such a way
That made it easier to pretend
Your calendar was also jinxed
On all of my miserable days
.
But our seasons raced
Against each other
In a fashion that on
Days you were pouring
I felt naked
And on days
The moon rested in my palms
You were faded
.
It took you a moment of weakness
To take your watch off
And stomp on it
Leaving nothing but
Twelve digits scattered
Lingering, helpless, all around me
I tried putting them back
Hoping we could still rearrange
Each miscommunicated heartbeat .
Hoping we could still beat
The strange cruelty
Of my tongue
The foreignness sleeping
Within all of your burns
But your silence
Was loud enough for me
To confuse
Desolation with love
Doubt with trust
Your silence
Was loud enough for me
To forget
Who exactly I was
And how number systems work
.

One thought on “Wrist watches (Letting You Go)

  1. some months ago I had an issue with WP which caused me to stop following several blogs. If you hadn’t checked out my blog, I wouldn’t have found you again. I’m glad I did. Your poetry is amazing.

    Like

Leave a comment